Moving slow

It started, I think, with the Slow Food movement. It then moved on to lots of others things in the craft world. I’m not sure where else it is found specifically, but I generally find that the concept is around just in the general culture in the US right now.

Occasionally, I find it annoying, because I think some people misunderstand the point. On some of the quilt podcasts I enjoy, for example, Pam of Hip to be a Square keeps joking that she doesn’t really get into it, because she produces quilts and other projects regularly, at a fairly fast pace. Now, to me – and I have no idea if the general understanding of the slow movement is in agreement with this or its my own idea – but the actual speed of production has nothing to do with whether or not you are participating in the Slow movement. Because actual production speed is not the point, whether fast or slow. The difference is in the attitude.

No matter what speed you are producing at, I want to know:

  1. are you enjoying yourself?
  2. do you feel pressured to produce without much creativity?
  3. are you doing this because you want to or because you are “required” to?
  4. do you have sufficient time – I don’t care how MUCH time – to make the things you want to make and still immerse yourself in the process? To be creative?
  5. do you like the end product?

There are other questions you could ask and other ways you could phrase these. They are just a sampling of the questions that go along with it. But the fundamental point is the same: your attitude towards what you produce is what makes it a reflection of the slow movement or not. You and I could both be quilting for the same amount of time, you could make five quilts while I just made one, but if we both enjoyed the process thoroughly, then we did it plenty slow.

2 Comments

  1. Leigh said,

    November 7, 2013 at 10:38 pm

    Interesting post. I’ve been thinking about the slow life as well and recently blogged some thoughts. I think alot of it boils down to the mental pace we set for ourselves, based on our expectations as well as the expectations of others. We’ve become so accustomed to doing, having, and being more, that we fail to realize that we can’t do it all. It’s a mental and emotional habit.

    • bibliotecaria2 said,

      November 8, 2013 at 7:18 am

      Yes, one of my favorite sayings is “Yes, I can do it all. I just can’t do it all Right Now.”


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

