What’s an artist?

I’ve got another post simmering around in my head on why I don’t really consider myself an artist, but I’ve realized that I don’t yet have a definition for what makes an artist yet. The actual definition:

2 a : one who professes and practices an imaginative art b : a person skilled in one of the fine arts
3 : a skilled performer; especially : ARTISTE
4 : one who is adept at something
(taken from http://www.webster.com)

doesn’t have the connotations and nuances that I want to express because, especially by those definitions, I am an artist.

Maybe…
no, I think…
clearly, I’m confused. I may have to rethink my opinion of myself. That other post is one I’m still working on.

Leave a Reply

