Detached chain stitch

Well, I hate to say it, but I found myself distinctly uninspired with this stitch. I couldn’t really think of anything interesting to do with it. So, I chose simply to test out some different sizes and heights to get varied effects.

Here’s a bit of wide and narrow stitches.

And another selection of playing with patterns in some pretty metallic thread. I did some interweaving as well to see what that looked like.

Neither thread I selected shows up all that well against the fabric, unfortunately. Just another example of my lack of inspiration, I think. I probably should have taken the time to go look at other people’s playing before trying anything, but found it hard to find the time. Maybe next week, I can add in something more interesting with detached chain in combination with something else. By itself, it doesn’t seem to be truly interesting.

2 Comments

  1. Susan said,

    January 24, 2007 at 9:00 pm

    Your pictures gave me an insight into this stitch that I didn’t have before. I hadn’t realized that if I had open ends, it’s really just a feather stitch or a fly stitch!

  2. Susan said,

    February 3, 2007 at 5:10 pm

    It looks like you had a long week, too, and didn’t get things posted! Thank goodness there are more weeks in this year, as I’m officially behind now. =)


Leave a Reply

