Current knitting

Someone just recently made a comment about all the knitting projects I have going, and I just wanted to explain that I’m not really excessively committed. It’s all about balance, and I do try to maintain a certain amount of balance with small and large projects.

Right now I’m working on:

one big project: Lochinvar sweater from Alice Starmore’s Fishermen’s sweaters

one medium project: lace stole with my first handspun that will eventually become a gift — although this may end up being restarted, because I may have cast on with too many stitches

one medium charity project: a simple feather and fan stole as a prayer shawl

one small charity project: a hat

one small traveling project: socks — on the toe of sock #1, which means that this picture is now out of date

The other two projects I mentioned were also small and therefore already finished, namely, a dishcloth and a scarf for myself.


In the ideas stage but not yet ready to begin: a baby blanket for a friend’s baby due in June; a knitted lace shawl (BIG project) for which I am still swatching; a Fair Isle scarf that will be for practice in learning stranded-color knitting; the next sweater, but which one is uncertain, since there are two possibilities; the next pair of socks, which will be a gift for my sister (only one pair of socks at a time, plus I still need her foot measurements).

I’ll start the baby blanket as soon as I get the yarn, but will hopefully be able to whip that out comparatively quickly.

So, really, it’s not that much. At least, it’s not much for me, unless I start to think about all the other projects I have in train in the many fiber arts in which I am involved. Then, well, I do get a little overwhelmed. But I always have to remember that I enjoy the process as well as the product, and I’m not really in a big hurry for most of these projects. So slow is okay, as long as they do get finished.

Eventually.

Which reminds me, I need to show you the pictures of the handmade quilt, now that I’ve got pictures of it, but I’ll do that tomorrow. One craft per post!

1 Comment

  1. Leigh said,

    February 20, 2007 at 4:55 am

    Whew. I can’t even work up two at the moment. Except in my mind. I’m always working on two or three projects in my mind.


Leave a Reply

