What have I been doing? (Weaving)

Well, now I’ve added in a new fiber hobby.

In January, I finally succumbed to the silent pressure of my own curiosity, and bought a loom. After joining a spinning and weaving guild, I began to realize fairly quickly that being around all these weavers was a “bad” thing. It made me want to do it as well. Most earnestly. I resisted for over a year, but late last year began to think seriously about it. Always before it had just been dreaming and browsing. Then I realized it was pretty much a done deal inside my head when I set myself a maximum allowable price. It is a used Macomber loom, 8-shaft. I need to find out more about it, since I think there is something that needs a little bit of repair and/or improvement, although it fully functions as is.

I picked up the used loom through the guild, which was nice. It allowed me to stretch out the payment so that it sat well in my budget.

I started out learning what to do using the Deborah Chandler book Learning to weave, which is really good in giving those extremely detailed, step-by-step instructions that really tell you what to do. I’ve already done a the beginning sampler. Now to work my way through the rest of the book!

warping the loom

Here’s a picture in the process of warping the loom.

Here are some pictures of what I’ve created so far.first samples

The final picture is slightly blurry — I clearly need to try again on that one — but it is using some of my first handspun in the weft, attempting a 2/2 twill pattern for the first time.

handspun weft

The process of adding in this new hobby is slow, but I am already thinking of dish towels! And Christmas presents! And who knows what else? Eventually…

3 Comments

  1. March 19, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    […] https://bibliotecaria2.wordpress.com/2008/03/19/what-have-i-been-doing-weaving/Then I realized it was pretty much a done deal inside my head when I set myself a maximum allowable price. It is a used Macomber loom, 8-shaft. I need to find out more about it, since I think there is something that needs a little bit … […]

  2. March 20, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    […] https://bibliotecaria2.wordpress.com/2008/03/19/what-have-i-been-doing-weaving/Then I realized it was pretty much a done deal inside my head when I set myself a maximum allowable price. It is a used Macomber loom, 8-shaft. I need to find out more about it, since I think there is something that needs a little bit … […]

  3. Inhalant said,

    June 19, 2008 at 5:49 am

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Inhalant.


Leave a Reply

