How are things going over the winter work time?

Winter is actually a good crafts work time for me. Although I don’t always achieve the goal, I do like to hibernate a bit during the winter and organize and contemplate plans for the year. This year has been a bit busier than most, but we’ll see what can be achieved. I have been thinking about what I would like to do in the various crafts of my life.

For example, weaving… I took a class just a week ago on 18th century textiles. It was lovely.  I got several ideas on what I want to work on next, plus more than half of the warp to use up. I got some help on warping, which, with the Peggy Osterkamp book I received for Christmas, is helping me to understand better why my cottolin warp was such a mess. I saw a loom just like mine, except I think that mine is older, and suddenly I understand some things about my loom that puzzled me before. All of this is progress.

Sewing…stalled, but I did pick up some cloth when I visited New York.

Quilting…stalled at home, but still plugging away on the hand-quilting of denim quilt at work.

Cross-stitch…equally a non-starter at home, but also plugging away one lunchtime a week.

Knitting goes quite well; in fact it will need its own post.

Spinning…goes well, but in fits and starts.

All things considered, it is a good time, yet there is so much more I want to do!

Leave a Reply

