Monthly roundup October 2009

This is a new idea that I would like to try. I may not keep it up. I may try it for a while and then quit, who knows? But it struck me as a good one. The idea came from Katie the Scrapbook Lady.

October 2009 roundup

What books did I read this month?

Keeping up with the books I read is a difficult task, since I read so many. But the one that sticks out is a new author that I have discovered, Laurie R. King, and her Mary Russell/Sherlock Holmes books. I have only read the first one, but I think I will greatly enjoy this series, since it takes the character of Holmes and changes him subtly without being untrue to the canon of Conan Doyle.

What movies, television shows, plays, etc. did I watch this month?

No movies that I went out to see, although I did watch the Allan Quartermain and the Temple of Skulls from netflix. I must say that it was uninspiring. I enjoyed better the dvd of the tv series The Flash from 1990. The sets are so dated, but I still enjoyed the show.

What fun things did I do with my family and/or friends?

A friend and I went to the Virginia Fall Fiber Festival the first weekend in October. Sometime I’m going to go to that and just sit and watch the sheepdogs for the entire afternoon. It will entail coming prepared with chair, etc., but it is so fascinating watching the dogs work and compete. (I need to inquire when the experienced dogs compete. I want to watch them and learn what the good dogs do before I bother to watch the young ones.)

What gifts did I give and/or receive?

I sent two birthday cards, one with an itunes gift certificate for a 16th birthday. I think that will be just what he wants.

What special or unusual purchases did I make?

I finally, FINALLY, bought a bike. Of course, now I need all the related items, but that was to be expected.

What illnesses or health concerns did I have?

I finally went to the doctor for an antibiotic because I finally decided that I must have a sinus infection. Considering how quickly the symptoms of inflammation went away after the antibiotic hit, I think my conclusion must have been correct. Which will be lesson to me — do NOT WAIT next time you start suffering these symptoms.

What were my accomplishments this month?

Retaught a training session at work that went really well.

What were my disappointments this month?

Can’t think of any.

Anything else noteworthy to include?

Went on a trip to New York State with some friends to help with their home improvement projects.

1 Comment

  1. Leigh said,

    December 19, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    Bibliotecaria, very interesting post. You should keep up with it! I think these kinds of questions are good for the soul so to speak.

    Thank you for visiting my 5 Acres blog and taking the time to leave a comment. I agree with you that true self-sufficiency is neither truly attainable nor completely desirable. As a goal however, it is a valuable tool for setting priorities, making life choices, and keeping one in touch with the natural world.

    I realized a long time ago that materialism, consumerism, and pursuit of financial security as a lifestyle is not only not fulfilling, but frustrating. It just made life more complicated. My conclusions and solution are pretty much summed up in my post, “A Simple Life” – http://my5acredream.blogspot.com/2009/06/simple-life.html

    Regarding lard and palm oil, you are absolutely correct. As I mentioned though, I would be reluctant to use commercially processed lard not only because of the preservatives but also because of the probable diet of the pig. And that goes back to my goal of a self-sufficient lifestyle. It is more feasible for me to raise and butcher the pig myself, than be able to find and afford a source for that kind of lard.


Leave a Reply

