December 2009 roundup

December roundup 2009

What books did I read this month?

Laurie R. King series turned out to be very good. I started to read the most recent one, but then I skimmed through it enough to know that I want to wait for the next to come out — it was kind of set up with a cliffhanger of sorts. And I hate waiting.

What movies, tv, performances, etc. did I watch this month?

Criminal Minds was a sudden discovery through marathon repeat sessions on A&E. This meant, of course, that I was seeing it in on overload, with a very disjointed storyline for the ongoing character development. But that was okay. I’m not precisely interested in becoming “addicted” to it. I would prefer to be able to enjoy if it is on, but also be able to turn it off.

I got to see Handel’s Messiah performed live by an excellent chorus and orchestra on my visit to Boston. Since one of my goals this Xmas season was to the Messiah and the Nutcracker, I was very pleased to be able to get that done. Unfortunately, the Nutcracker didn’t work out. The weekend I planned to try for it was the weekend that we received record-breaking snowfall here in DC. And I was too lazy — and out of the mood — the weekend after Xmas to find out where it was.

What fun things did I do, alone or with my family and/or friends?

Well, the entire trip to Boston for work also turned out to be a very fun thing. It was definitely alone, since this was a work trip that I extended for personal pleasure. But I realized a long time ago that I enjoy doing some thing by myself.

What gifts did I give and/or receive?

Since we did thanxmas last month, I actually didn’t receive any gifts this month, except the chocolate truffles sent by the company with whom I have my investments. Very good choice on their part, especially since they stated that they had also made a donation to the Make-A-Wish foundation.

I did do some charity gifting that I’ve been meaning to do for a while.

And I actually won a prize in relation to a previous charity gifting I did a month or so ago. Knitting pattern — yay! (Although possibly not one I would have bought myself. I like the lace pattern, but would prefer it in a triangle rather than a stole shape. I wonder if I can convert it? Consult designer, perhaps?)

What special or unusual purchases did I make?

I think the nicest memento from Boston is the pewter tablespoons set. They have a neat design of a dragonfly in the curve of the spoon. Ironically they are not made in Boston or surrounding areas, which is usually one of my criteria for a memento, but I liked them enough that I didn’t mind. And pewter is definitely associated in my mind with Boston, mostly because of the colonial time association.

What illnesses or health concerns did I have?

The ongoing sinus pressure headaches do not seem to be going away. I’m continuing to take only two of my three allergy medicines, and reactions are mild to nonexistent, but I’m wondering if I will be able to continue that. Anyway, doctor’s appointment next month, so we will definitely be questioning this.

I did finally get rid of the cough from November’s flu; just had to wait it out. Interestingly, it finally faded away the very week I was teaching. Maybe the sheer amount of water I drank to keep my voice functional that week made a difference? Or else it was just time?

What were my accomplishments this month?

Teaching the class in Boston and getting the class materials updated and uploaded.

I also finally finished four pages of digital scrapbooking.

What were my disappointments this month?

Well, I didn’t get to the Nutcracker. Maybe I can focus on that as a goal for next year.

Anything else noteworthy to include?

Christmas was quiet. Snow was significant.

Leave a Reply

