I’ve never suffered from…

Knock on wood, because the ending is: second sock syndrome.

I don’t know why it is, but whenever I’ve done a pair of socks, I’ve always started on #2 as soon as #1 was done. The worst that has ever happened is that I’ve stalled on a pair of socks and done another pair in the meantime. But that had nothing to do with SSS, but rather with sizing issues — they were gift socks.

I think that part of the reason is that I like the meditative unthinking part of the socks, namely the ribbed cuff and the simple stockinette foot for out-and-about knitting that can be fairly mindless. I’ve yet to settle on a truly favorite heel and toe, although I think I do have some preferences at this point. But those are the parts that still require concentration from me, and which I therefore do in moments when I can at least partially concentrate on them. Actually, my biggest memory stretch from sock #1 to #2 is making sure I do the same thing from heel #1 to heel #2. I always try to write it down, especially when it’s a new form that I am trying out. On this last pair, I actually had both of them going at the same time to make sure that I did them the same.

Favorites so far for toe-up: definitely Judy’s magic cast on for the toe and the short-row heel. However, I’m still willing to consider alternate for the heel — I liked the gusset heel that Wendyknits had in one of her free patterns.

Favorites so far for top-down: star toe, but NO decisions made for the best heel.

Still having problems with little holes in the heel corners, but considering ideas for that. This last pair did pretty good.

Here’s hoping I never suffer from SSS. Fingers firmly crossed.

Leave a Reply

