first socks of 2010

I finally got a chance to try Lorna’s Laces sock yarn, in a lovely buttery yellow, for the making of a sock. Part of my problem in doing this has been that most places have the multicolored sock yarn, and I am mainly interested in the semisolid colors; that colorway appeals to me more. But I finally found some and made some very nice socks. I found the shepherd sock yarn to be a perfect yarn for my socks, and I will definitely be returning to it. I liked the feel of it.

I started it in January while visiting my friend in Nashville, and finished them by mid-February. This was pretty fast for me, but I worked on them a lot at church during class and the sermon. Fortunately I don’t seem to disturb anyone while I’m doing this; I’m just becoming known for it. I myself pay attention better when I have something in my hands so that I am less fidgety.

I made them toe-up, with the magic cast-on and short-row toe. The cuff was simple double rib, but the biggest change I made was making sure to do a long cuff than I had been doing. They were six-inch long cuffs, which is just right for a folded cuff on my leg. Sadly, this means that I will be buying extra sock yarn on a regular basis, since I would not have had enough in my skein. Of course, I used very little over one skein, but I like the length, and that just means I will have to find a way to use up leftover sock yarn. Either socks with blended yarn or a leftovers blanket, or something. I’ll come up with something, I’m sure.

I did this one so fast that I immediately started another pair and I’m moving right along on it. I may even set myself a goal of six pairs of socks this year (I played with the thought of twelve, but let’s be realistic). Anything over that number would be a plus. As much as I like my socks, that would be a good thing.

Here’s the socks while they were in progress.Socks in progress

Leave a Reply

