Lochinvar so close

Just sewing on the buttons, which I don’t have yet, but I hope to get at MDS&W.

Also it needs to be washed.

It will be done, done, done! Four years since I started it, a long period of hibernation, then I finally got over the hump of picking up the stitches for the sleeves with the Knitting Olympics. I didn’t finish it with the Olympics, but I definitely made enough progress to get me mentally where I needed to be, moving, feeling the momentum, an end in sight — need I go on?

Lochinvar completed, design by Alice Starmore

Lochinvar all done, done, done!!!

I do like it a great deal. Would I change anything? Well, I might have a done it a size smaller needles, but this is a size of sweater that doesn’t mind being large. Did I change anything? Yes, the sleeves are slightly shorter than the pattern called for, and I added four rows to the collar, because I think there was an error in the pattern. I need to check that, but not really a big deal. It’s more for my curiosity than anything else.

I definitely like the knit/purl patterns and the gusset of the gansey style. Now what shall I do next? I would like to use my gray handspun, something with set-in sleeves and some minor cabling. I’d also like to do a basic raglan sweater knitted with light fingering weight yarn, like the sock yarn, in one of the tone-on-tone colorways. And of course I still have that cotton cardigan to do that I started last year. Decisions, decisions.

1 Comment

  1. Leigh said,

    April 7, 2010 at 3:51 am

    This is beautiful. Of course, I love anything Starmore. I haven’t knit a sweater in awhile. You’ve got me thinking…..


Leave a Reply

