March 2010 roundup post

What were my accomplishments this month?
I’ve committed to run a 10K on July 31, and I’m making nice progress on running for longer periods. By the end of March, I was running 8 minute stretches on the 5K distance. Once I can run the 5K distance steady, I’ll start building distance. One trick is to slow down, which I knew, but I hadn’t realized how much I need to slow down. I feel like I’m barely jogging faster than I walk, but when I run that slow I keep my heart rate in the range where I can keep it up for a while.

Finished Lochinvar. At this point I don’t have buttons on it, but I am hoping to find some nice silver or pewter buttons with a Celtic theme at MDS&W. It seems appropriate.
Also finished the socks from my handspun, but I still need to wash and block them.

What were my disappointments this month?
An allergy attack day the last Sunday of the month. That was annoying and disappointing.

Going out on a date with a nice guy that left me totally unexcited. I’ve yet to go out with a guy in my entire life where I wanted to go out with him again. And shouldn’t I feel at least a little excited? I don’t feel anticipation at the prospect, I feel exhaustion. And he is definitely a nice guy. But one thing for sure — I am never allowing anyone to introduce me to someone, or vice versa, with a matchmaking glint in their eye. If it happens, it better be because the man himself has requested it, not because the go-between person thinks it was a good idea. (Answer to give: He is welcome to introduce himself or ask you to do it, but I would prefer not to go to him.) I don’t think anyone who has tried this with me really understands my character at all, and therefore what I might like.

What books/shows/movies did I enjoy this month?
The new Alice move — it turned out to be not what I expected, and quite good. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Actually did look at Anita Luvera Mayer’s books, which were interesting and inspiring, but not exactly what I needed for the green tweed cloth I wove, mostly because I have such a limited amount. I’m visualizing a skirt, but I’m not precisely sure how to achieve what I have in mind, so I’m going to have to do some experimenting. Fortunately I have some wool remnants I’ve picked up, so I can play a bit before cutting into my handwoven cloth. Instead I turned to Handwoven, Tailormade, and this is a little more what I need, but not quite, since it deals with the idea of weaving on purpose for cloth, and I’m looking for guidance for cloth that I’ve already woven. But all these books have definitely inspired me to start planning a big project where I weave cloth for a dress. Some kind of wool tweed, done with very fine wool yarn. The biggest frustration? So far, I’ve found precisely ONE product that produces the kind of yarn I want. Where’s the competition?

What significant events occurred this month?

Moved from one section to another at work. Not at my request, but at the request of the supervisor in question. Nice to be wanted, but it means giving up my nice seat. Other than that, I’m feeling mostly positive about the change. It does make sense in a lot of ways. But it’s a lateral move in all other ways.

What fun things did I do with my family and/or friends?
Woodlawn Exhibition with a friend at work. They reorganized a bit, so there were some lovely works that you could actually get up close to. I was so inspired by the Japanese embroidery that I inquired about classes; maybe one day. The classes that the local teacher was offering would not have worked at this point in time.

Started on the building of a raised bed in the backyard for some gardening. I bought some concrete blocks to form the frame (need some more) because I want it to last longer than wood. And I finally get to use my compost!

What gifts did I give and/or receive? Sent Mom a birthday card, but didn’t really give any gifts.

What special or unusual purchases did I make? Sent off my sectional warp beam to have the cords attached by the company. If I’m going to do long warps, then I am definitely interested in using my sectional beam, which is supposed to keep much better even tension.

What illnesses or health concerns did I have?

Started the month out with a cold. Then a sinus infection. Amazing result of tea tree oil and eucalyptus oil in sinus rinse, which got rid of the sinus infection amazingly fast without the need for an antibiotic. I have kept up the sinus rinse with a neti pot, which I like much better than the plastic bottle I had from the doctor. I can control it going into my sinuses better, and so it’s a little more comfortable than it was.
Also, I’m trying acupuncture to help with the sinus pressure, and I’m actually seeing a lessening of the sinus pressure. This is amazing and delightful. The down side, unfortunately, is that I seem to be seeing an increase in drainage as a result.
I still would like to find out if there is any point in adding in other allergens to the allergy shots. I KNOW that I am reacting to other things than just dust mites.

Anything else noteworthy to include?
The weather finally started to turn warm, with a few hiccups of cold here and there.

1 Comment

  1. Leigh said,

    April 7, 2010 at 3:49 am

    I don’t know if this is noteworthy or not, but you did win my seed giveaway. Please contact me at my e-addy with a postal address to send them to! Congratulations!


Leave a Reply

