Roundup post for May 2010

What special or unusual event occurred?

Trip to Lancaster, PA with the ladies at church. A good chance to get to know some of them better and make connections that would take a lot longer during normal times.

 

I saw someone at church that I did NOT expect to see. My curiosity bug is biting me, but I am trying to be courteously incurious. I may ask, but then I may not; I pray that God will grant me wisdom to know if I should ask or not.

 

What were my accomplishments this month?

Things seem to be moving forward a bit this month at work. The conversion to elearning class now has someone to focus on it, which means we may have a better chance of moving ahead with this at a brisk pace.

 

I have almost completed the quarter of doing nursery duty on Wednesday night at church. I’ve enjoyed that too.

 

What were my disappointments this month?

Well, much money spent on house. And I still haven’t gotten to some of the things I want to do to it, but deep breath to save a bit more money and wait. Exciting moment on the last day of the month – received money back from escrow account, which will pay for a good bit of the gutter.

 

What books/music/shows did I enjoy this month?

Got my hands on Leisure book. Started it, but going slow.

Am trying to discover a good, inspiring book about scrapbooking.

 

I am seriously considering getting rid of my cable subscription. There are times when I don’t watch enough tv to make it worthwhile. And the Netflix thing can replace it in a big way.

 

What crafts did I work on (not what I finished, but what did I work on)?

  1. Sewed a bit on cotton knit cloth pants.
  2. Baby sweater, pretty much finished
  3. Bamboo socks
  4. Cotton socks
  5. Spinning bamboo/wool blend
  6. Denim quilt
  7. Boiled wool knitting
  8. One whole row on lace cowl
  9. I’m thinking about a backpack for running, in which I can carry my water.

 

What fun things did I do with my family and/or friends?

Went to see Ironman 2 with a friend. It was a hoot.

 

What gifts did I give and/or receive?

Can’t think of any actually given. I am however, working on a baby sweater for a friend who I found out about last month.

Whoops! Just realized I forgot my nephew’s birthday card. Take care of that tomorrow, promptly!

 

What special or unusual purchases did I make?

The gutter happened.

The ac got a part replaced.

I finished the book buying for my guild.

I found some white sandals.

I got some lovely handmade baskets on a trip to Lancaster, PA.

 

What illnesses or health concerns did I have?

The knee is making itself felt.

I gave up on the no-dairy experiment.

My allergies are restabilizing, between resumption of shots to maintenance dosage and the movement into summer allergens.

 

Anything else noteworthy to include?

I am now committed to going to a conference in July. I will be riding up in a car with my former supervisor and sharing a hotel room with my current one. This will be very interesting.

I have also committed to giving someone a ride down to SC when I go to the beach for vacation. It is the result of one of those connections from the Lancaster weekend. I think it is a good one.

Leave a Reply

