Word for the year

One of the ideas that I’ve been seeing in many scrapbooking sites is a word for the year that is the underlying focus of whatever goals or activities you may undertake. I thought it was an interesting idea, but I was having a hard time coming up with something for myself. Since I couldn’t really see what sort of theme I wanted to do, I was considering not even trying. If I couldn’t even see clearly enough to figure out my focus of the year, then it wouldn’t feel right as a focus. But then I realized that that problem was my answer. That is what I needed.

Clarity.

I need to see and know things clearly.

Truthfully, the idea is ever so slightly terrifying. Do I really want to see myself with absolute clarity? Do I want to see other people with utter clarity? Maybe, maybe not. But I’m not going to try to limit the word. It would limit what I might learn. So,

Dear Father in Heaven, I ask for clarity for the year. Let what clarity comes my way be Your will, seen with Your eyes, not my own. Help me to learn what You desire for me to learn, so that I may be a daughter who you will not only love, but of whom you will also feel proud. In the name of Jesus, Amen.

Leave a Reply

