Roundup January 2011

What special or unusual event occurred?

I went to the midwinter meeting of my professional association. As a consequence, I saw a city that I’ve never seen before and enjoyed some really beautiful weather as a consequence. I do hope to get back there; I have some sightseeing to accomplish!

What were my accomplishments this month?

Clarity in understanding what I need to do with the website for my professional association. I must say, it was a good thing that the office rep and I had a face-to-face talk. Several things became clear that had not been clear. I’ve also taken one other step to arrange for even greater clarity: talking to my predecessor.

Teaching reviewers class

What were my disappointments this month?

I had quite a few headaches from the cold weather. And I wasn’t able to exercise as much as I would have liked.

What books/music/shows did I enjoy this month?

  • The Adept series by Deborah Thorne and Kaye ???
  • Sweater quest by Adrienne Martini
  • The elusive bride by Stephanie Laurens
  • the Lensman series by E.E. Doc Smith
  • Brightly burning by Mercedes Lackey
  • A couple of old Georgette Heyer’s: Lady of quality, Toll-gate
  • Blink by Malcolm Gladwell
  • Archangel’s consort by Nalini Singh
  • a few more pages of Knitting in the old way
  • Burke’s Law (more episodes from season 1)
  • Cat among the pigeons movie — an old Agatha Christie movie

What crafts did I work on this month (not what I finished, but what did I work on)?

  • summerweight cardigan
  • baby sweater
  • denim quilt binding
  • spinning bamboo wool blend (finished!)
  • spinning angora/wool blend (finished! – it was only one ounce, for testing)
  • lace cowl
  • lace with handspun
  • alpaca socks
  • threading my loom for the Harrisville wool shawl (or maybe just cloth)

What fun things did I do with my family and/or friends?

You know, I’ve begun to realize that the family and/or friends mention is actually a limitation. I do quite a lot of fun things by myself! So…

I had a quiet craft Saturday at home where I made progress on quite a few of things listed above. On some of those items, it was moving things along just a little bit, or backing up and correcting an error, but still, progress is progress.

What gifts did I give and/or receive?

My secret sister from church is definitely giving me quite a bit. She seems to like bath products as gifts; fortunately she has paid attention to the fact that I like lavender.

I am also giving to my secret sister. Although not a person I know well, I did have an opportunity to have a conversation with her at an event that gave me some ideas, as well as the sheet she filled out. This month is a book on teaching (she’s studying to be a teacher of young children) and a half-year birthday card with stickers. (Her birthday is actually in July, but the SS thing will be done by then, so…)

What special or unusual purchases did I make?

My niece #1 turned sixteen this month, so I got her a gift – a microphone. This will go with another item I’m giving her, although it doesn’t count precisely as a birthday gift. She had gotten an 180GB ipod Classic, and I had this attachment for the ipod that I found I wasn’t using that allows one to record onto your ipod. I decided to get her a microphone that would plug in to the attachment (Belkin TuneTalk, I think) so that she could record herself singing. I hope she enjoys it. (Of course, now I have to confess that I haven’t mailed it yet.)

What illnesses or health concerns did I have?

My ankle started to bother me again after a day of sightseeing with much walking. The area just around the ankle swelled again and I continued to feel twinges even after the actual pain went away. Doctor’s appointment checkup this month. Physical therapist is advised.

After the transcontinental flight and no chiropractic visit during the holidays, I was desperately in need of one early in the month. Fortunately, I already had a massage and chiro visit on the calendar. Even my jaw was out of whack! I am feeling much better now that that has been taken care of, and the headache and sinus pressure that was intensifying has eased back some more.

Anything else noteworthy to include?

I went to San Diego! It was a nice trip, if really short, and definitely whetted my taste for some more travel in that direction.

Did I achieve clarity in something this month?

Well, I achieved some understanding of the previously mentioned situation with my professional association committee.

I also understood my own Bible study process a little bit better. I was trying to impose a schedule on myself that didn’t work with my energy levels and times. Now that I’ve realized that, it is time to shift the way I work.

Leave a Reply

