Roundup April 2011

What special or unusual event occurred?

I went to visit my sister and family. That was lovely and quiet. I caught up on sleep quite a bit!
 
What were my accomplishments this month?

I finally got going on the website template for my professional organization. I tried out a template from a CiL conference presenter, but it just wasn’t working right. Of course, that one was meant to be used for a small library, but still…

My sister handed over the pictures that Mom had gathered for the 50th anniversary party, so I have scanned them in. (I surprised myself by getting it all done in a weekend.) We also made some music selections for singing at the party.

Now I want to go back and add in the metadata to the photos.
 
What were my disappointments this month?

I wish I was better at party organizing. And I am very grateful that my SIL is there to prod us into movement.

I also received some alarming news from a friend regarding her husband. For privacy’s sake, I won’t say anything more, just a reminder to myself to keep them in prayer.
 
What books/music/shows did I enjoy this month?

  • Brazen bride; Reckless bride; Mastered by love by Laurens
  • Nero Wolfe’s The rubber band
  • Lisa Kleypas’ more modern setting books, as well as a re-read of some of the Hathaway books
  • some more re-reads of Jayne Ann Krentz, plus her new one of Quicksilver 
  • Uncentering the earth, which is a bit of a struggle to read, being about Copernicus’ theory of heliocentrism and placing it in context of his time
  • Heavenly intrigue, which is about Kepler the astronomer/astrologist possibly being the murderer of Tycho Brahe for his astronomical records. I found that I really don’t like Kepler at all. Brahe was a much more interesting and nice person.

It is interesting to see how I move in cycles. For a while I’m only interested in light reads, and then I switch to something serious. Apparently I’m on an astronomy kick.

What crafts did I work on this month (not what I finished, but what did I work on)?

  • baby blanket in diamond finished; started and finished baby blanket in square, well rectangle – finally using up that indigo dyed yarn, but it does stain my fingers every time I knit! Will definitely need to wash/wash out all that dye before handing over to charity
  • actually started on a journal cover last month for my SS, so really needed to work on that this month
  • Socks #19; finished on the 30th
  • Finished off the attempt at a camera/electronic body strap, but it didn’t work precisely, because it turned out not to be big enough.
  • Still plugging away at the denim quilt, but the end is in sight.

What fun things did I do with my family, friends, or by myself?

I started to teach some ladies and their daughters how to knit.
 
What gifts did I give and/or receive?

A good and busy month was a good gift to receive, even if I did struggle with sickness for most of it.

SS gift given: Scrabble game; small keyring of name carved in wood

Card for my sister’s birthday
 
What special or unusual purchases did I make?

I did a Angie’s List Big Deal for a handyman service – I’m already compiling the list. That’s the first time one of the Big Deals actually offered me something I both needed and wanted at the right moment.

Plus I now have to get work done to my roof. The recurring wet spot in my floor is actually, apparently, damage to my roof. You’d think it would show up in my wall, but since it is concrete block, hopefully it won’t leave any mold behind. 
 
What illnesses or health concerns did I have?

I made some progress on physical therapy. My right ankle continues to strengthen, but very slowly. Running doesn’t seem to bother it, however, so I was able to resume my running exercise. The left knee has improved noticeably, although it continues to have problem. But I think that just means I am in for the long haul for exercising that knee – well, both knees – with a specific focus of balanced strength so that I don’t end up unable to climb stairs.

Nothing new with the allergies, but…

I did have a sinus infection. I battled it most of April, not sure if it was a sinus infection or just really bad spring allergies, but finally went to the doctor and got the antibiotic, and lo! antibiotics are a wonder of the world! For within a few hours of taking the first dose, I started to feel some congestion relief. It was a wonderful relief and a moment of great clarity – yes, I do suffer from sinus infections.
 
Anything else noteworthy to include?

Finally found the yarn for doing the Peacock Feathers shawl that I’ve wanted to do for a long time. The Unique Sheep has a beautiful silk laceweight yarn, and a dye job – called Peacock, no less – that they do in a gradient, meaning, long, slow changes from one color to the next. Is it perfect? Not quite, because I actually did want more intense green, but this is the closest thing I’ve seen to what I envisioned in my head, so I bought it as soon as I found it (thanks to the guild member who pointed me in the direction of the Unique Sheep) and promptly went to buy the pattern before it was lost to me. I also decided not to wait any longer but also to go ahead and buy Annie Modesitt’s silk corset pattern that I have long wanted. I don’t purchase many patterns, but certain ones tempt me beyond all others.

What clarity did I achieve this month?

I am engaged in an ongoing struggle with my own body to understand when I’m really sick with a sinus infection. SI’s and allergies overlap in their symptoms so much that they are often hard for me to identify. Especially since I rarely show the green mucus that is supposed to be an invariable signal. For me, the most consistent sign that it is SI is two fold: really strong congestion in the nose, not just in the sinus cavities, that persists for a long time and inflammation in the sinus cavities, so that I feel like I’ve got a localized fever. (One comment by the second doctor I saw, for the second dose of antibiotics, was that anytime you just feel abnormally hot, you’ve probably got at least a little fever. That was helpful, since for me, my body temperature is normally low, so a “normal” temp is actually a fever for me. He explained some things really well; I really liked him, and will definitely go to him as a backup to my primary doctor at that practice.)

This month’s episode was a reminder to me to pay attention to my own body signals and do something sooner rather than later. I suspect sinus infection long before I went to the doctor, which is probably why I ended up needing two courses of antibiotics to get the job completely done.

Leave a Reply

