Roundup June 2011

What special or unusual event occurred?

Work conference in New Orleans – Fun and informative!

Strawberry picking – I processed a whole bunch into frozen in light syrup boxes. Which means that I am now stocked up for flavoring my yogurt.

Heading home for party and family vacation at the beach on June 30th.

What were my accomplishments this month?

Website for work association was produced and presented.
 
What were my disappointments this month?

The good effect of no sinus infection didn’t last. I had to return to slightly stronger medicine combo. But the month overall was good.

I was also disappointed because one of my websites didn’t get uploaded properly. But it wasn’t a tragedy. Just annoying.
 
What books/music/shows did I enjoy this month?

You know, I can’t think of much. This is why it is important to write them down as you go.

  • Kiss of snow – technically I started this on May 30th, but I read and re-read it several times. I was very well-pleased with it.
  • romances of various qualities
  • other things?
  • Finished watched the In search of Shakespeare documentary on Netflix. Turned out quite well.

What crafts did I work on this month (not what I finished, but what did I work on)?

  • Bamboo skirt – finished the knitting
  • To be felted piece of knitting fabric – the knitting is finished
  • Socks with panda silk
  • Baby sweater – finished
  • Gail shawlette with leftover yarn – started but not finished

What fun things did I do with my family, friends, or by myself?

Good day at Guild member’s house

Looking around New Orleans
 
What gifts did I give and/or receive?

Knitting lessons to some young girls and their mothers.
 
What special or unusual purchases did I make?

Birkenstocks! My first sandals by them, since I really needed some basic brown leather sandals. My biggest problem with them right now is that I am having a rough time finding the right hole in the buckle. They are supposed to be a certain amount loose, but it keeps stretching on me!

What illnesses or health concerns did I have?

Well, occasional sneezes occurred but overall a good month until the very last day.

Anything else noteworthy to include?

Roof repair!! Turned out I had a roof leak, which may have contributed to my allergies this spring – mold. But I got it fixed in May, with a fixing of a mistake in June. Then I discovered that there was in fact drywall damage and mold in my carpet. Now I need to fix the drywall and replace the carpet. I hadn’t planned on getting hardwood yet, but, well, since I have to replace it anyway

Free airline tickets were the result of my willingness to be bumped on my way to New Orleans. So in exchange for a really long time in an airport and considerable loss of sleep, I was able to get free tickets. This will take care of my trip to visit my brother and my next trip for work.

The local farmer’s market returned! Yeah! That means I don’t have to travel on Saturday mornings to get my fresh stuff. Instead I get it done on Friday evenings. There is not quite as much selection, but a decent amount.

Leave a Reply

