Roundup September 2011

Roundup questions for blog

What special or unusual event occurred?

Birthday! Baby, I turned forty! I feel absolutely the same, but I did enjoy my birthday.

What were my accomplishments this month?

Helped to create a couple of classes that I think was very much needed at work.
Handled everything that came my way.

What were my disappointments this month?

Politics at work that made the work difficult.

I discovered more damage to my house related to the roof leak. My disappointment in myself is there, though I’m pretty much over it. I should have dealt with it sooner, when the very first sign of a problem showed up. Once I realized the depth of the problem, I should have moved quickly to look for all the possible consequences. But I didn’t. So once more there is a lesson to learn.

What books/music/shows did I enjoy this month?

  • Archangels blade
  • The Nonesuch
  • Skylark of space
  • Skylark Three
  • Nero Wolfe again
  • Savage nature
  • Others…
  • Perry Mason season one continues
  • Man from UNCLE season two continues
  • Thor
  • Been listening to a lot of podcasts!
  • With all the stress I am not reading anything in-depth. Despite the fact that there are things I want to read, I just cannot handle them right now.

What crafts did I work on this month (not what I finished, but what did I work on)?

  • Socks #20
  • socks #21
  • pine and ivy shawl
  • Dishcloth
  • Spinning from I don’t know where, but that I won from the now-closed store With yarn in front, on the day that it opened, all spun all on my spindle
  • Dragon & Castle cross-stitch
  • Due to physical disruptions at home, I was not able to work on any sewing or weaving.

What fun things did I do with my family, friends, or by myself?

Visited my sister
Visited my parents, which was partially duty, but more relaxing than I expected

What gifts did I give and/or receive?

iPad2! From myself to myself.

Promised a few more fascinated young girls lessons in knitting. I’m already working on an October lesson.

Mom gave me money so that I can buy myself a new lounge chair.

I finally received the commissioned piece of furniture that I bought last October. It is lovely and has more space in it that I had hoped. But I am taking my time re-organizing my things to move into it.

What special or unusual purchases did I make?

iPad!
Hardwood flooring
Furniture arrived!
Will the iPod touch be far? My current iPod is definitely dying.
Expensive month

What illnesses or health concerns did I have?

Mostly good, although some headaches started appearing mid month. And the allergies are starting to act up a little bit more.

Dad is recovering remarkably well, although there were some concerns with rather severe dips in blood pressure. But that seems to have been resolved as over-medication, and he is recovering nicely.

Anything else noteworthy to include?

I turned 40 this year. I’m doing a Project 365 focused around that date, six months before to six months after. I have done remarkably well with getting a phone done every day, which is not to say I haven’t missed some, but it’s been workable.

What clarity did I achieve this month?

Don’t take on too much. I end up doing it before I realize it, sometimes because I feel guilty because I’m not doing “enough,” but whenever I do, I end up feeling overcommitted.

Leave a Reply

