Roundup May 2012

What special or unusual event occurred?

Dye day with the guild

What were my accomplishments this month?

Finished mostly creating training class at work. It was a big job – and just the beginning.

Launched major project at work.

In Wednesday night class with the young ones, the teacher and I continue to deal with a mix of ages and numbers that is not really working. However, I have spoken to the lady in charge, so I have hopes that it will NOT continue for next quarter. I don’t want someone else to have the problems we are having.

Oh, and the problem child? I’ve spoken to the Sunday morning teacher, purely by chance, and she is of the opinion that he is high-functioning autistic; she has the training to recognize it, so I am fairly confident of her correctness. That gives me a clearer attitude; he is not being a willful child, but someone with a disability that we need to work with/around. Now that I know that, I can deal with it.

In the meantime, we now have had two new students come in, sisters, and one of them has the appearance of a Downs syndrome child. She has been remarkably easy to work with, happily.

Either way, this gives us good practice for the special needs children’s miinistry that the church wants to start! God provides.

What were my disappointments this month?

Nothing special

What books/music/shows did I enjoy this month?

  • Nalini Singh books (re-reading for brain rest moments)
  • Liaden universe – working my through them
  • Cloudy Jewel by Grace Livingston Hill
  • The girl from Montana by Grace Livingston Hill
  • others

What crafts did I work on this month (not what I finished, but what did I work on)?

  • Socks, purple
  • radiating star blanket/shawl
  • Baby flannel quilt
  • gray Shetland spinning
  • Percy shawlette

What fun things did I do with my family, friends, or by myself?

Strawberry picking

What gifts did I give and/or receive?

Card to ss, and a special custom-made necklace.

What special or unusual purchases did I make?

Been using BN gc’s from Discover; decided to buy Kate Daniels novels.

What illnesses or health concerns did I have?

Ongoing tension, allergies

Anything else noteworthy to include?

Got some electrical work done unexpectedly

What rest did I achieve this month?

Struggling

Leave a Reply

