Roundup 2013 October

What special or unusual event occurred?
Well, the government shut down. Being a Federal employee, I ended up with 16 days of staycation. It was a highly interesting experience. I enjoyed the home time, though at first I found it confusing.
What were my accomplishments this month?
I quilted a baby quilt to give later in the month. I also employed the staycation time somewhat usefully, while packing in plenty of rest time.
What were my disappointments this month?
I was distinctly delayed in getting some work done. This threw me off when I finally got back to work. It was difficult to get back in work mode for pretty much all of October, between furlough, vacation time, and consequent slowness to getting back into thinking in work mode.
What books/music/shows did I enjoy this month?
  • J.D. Robb kick
    • Treachery in death
    • Salvation in death
    • Survivor in death
    • Indulgence in death
    • Celebrity in death
    • Origin in death
    • Memory in death
    • Born in death
    • Innocent in death
    • Promises in death
  • by Nalini Singh
    • Wild invitation
    • Angel’s blood
    • Archangel’s kiss
    • Archangel’s blade
    • Archangel’s legion
    • Tangle of need
  • Redoubt by Mercedes Lackey
  • Bastion by Mercedes Lackey
  • Five little pigs by Agatha Christie (in Sigil)
  • The last boyfriend by Nora Roberts
  • The perfect hope by Nora Roberts
  • The mentalist
  • Skyfall
  • The Avengers
  • Murder at the vicarage
  • Sleeping murder
  • Nemesis
  • The A-team
  • Campion, season 2
  • Mansfield Park, two different versions
What crafts did I work on this month (not what I finished, but what did I work on)?
  • Baby quilt — started and finished in less than a month
  • Summerweight sweater — we’re getting close
  • Socks #29
  • Couture dress
  • Baby kimono #7 and #8
What fun things did I do with my family, friends, or by myself?
I was actually able to attend some daytime Bible studies with friends that ordinarily would never be possible, due to the shut down.
I also visited my brother and his family.
What gifts did I give and/or receive?
I received the gift of time.
What special or unusual purchases did I make?
Well, I tried to get maintenance done on the house, but delays kept happening.
What illnesses or health concerns did I have?
Allergies, allergies, allergies.
Anything else noteworthy to include?
Well, the HVAC man was supposed to come and follow up on my heater maintenance, and he called to say he could not come because of the highly unexpected death of his wife. Having experienced that myself last year, I had nothing to offer but sympathy and patience.
On the other hand, he pointed out a problem that I need to get fixed — a weird leak of some sort around the hot water heater pipe in my roof. Good thing I now know about it.
The roof guy is taking forever a while to respond. But I am also raising things that are getting added by the homeowner’s association and the HVAC guy, so I must possess my soul in patience.
What rest did I achieve this month?
I actually was pretty well rested, all things considered. But it’s a constant effort to do and redo.
Leave a Reply

